The *Modeling and Simulation Professional Certification Commission* (M&SPCC), under the auspices of the National Training Systems Association (NTSA), is responsible for developing and providing professional certification of simulation specialists. The purpose of this certification is to create an identity for and build cohesiveness across the modeling and simulation (M&S) community by establishing guidelines for determining professional competency. These guidelines cover three core competencies: model-based disciplines such as physics, engineering, human behavior, or biology; the use of empirical based methodologies such as statistics and experiment design; and computer technology and computer science. In addition to these core competencies, a professional must exhibit a degree of knowledge supporting a common basis for community. This community includes discrete systems simulation, continuous systems simulation, and real-time systems simulation.

On 29 January 2002, two events are being held, one in Orlando, FL, and one in San Antonio, TX, as the first in a series of recognition ceremonies to take place in various cities across the United States throughout the year. These events recognize two groups: *Pioneers* and *Charter Members*. *Pioneers* are members of the Implementation Group, Certification Board and Exam Subcommittee who led the establishment of the M&SPCC and its subsequent certification process. *Charter Members* were nominated by their peers to participate in the first two rounds of certification. During the certification process these individual were required to present proof of their qualifications and activities within the modeling and simulation community. By the fall of 2002, certification will open to all members of the M&S community who hold sufficient credentials (based on education, work experience and community standing) and pass the certification exam.



Presentation of Certificates to

M& SPCC Pioneers and Charter Members

January 29th, 2002

Holiday Inn University Orlando, Florida

Four Winds by Sheraton San Antonio, Texas

For more information about the M&SPCC or the certification process, please contact Barbara McDaniel at 703-247-2569, bmcdaniel@ndia.org. The M&SPCC website is www.simprofessional.org.

National Training Systems Asociation



The Society for Modeling and Simulation International

Welcome

Charter Group

Today we are honoring the Pioneers of the M&SPCC as well as those Charter Group Members who have completed the Certification Examination (as of January 18, 2002). There are many others who could not be with us today. Please refer to the roster below to see the full list of those who have completed and submitted their certification documentation. A [#] denotes a presentation is being made in San Antonio; a * denotes a presentation is being made in Orlando. The remainder will be receiving their certificates at a later date.

Pioneers

Implementation Group:

Mr. G. V. (Vince) Amico # Dr. Bruce Fairchild Ms. Jenni Henderson Dr. Amy Henninger * RADM Frederick Lewis, USN (Ret.) * Dr. Bowen Loftin Dr. Dennis McBride Dr. Duncan Miller Mr. Henry C. Okraski * Dr. Ralph Rogers Dr. Hessam Sarjoughian Mr. Tom Stanford Dr. Helena Szczerbicka [#] Mr. Harry Thompson, III * Mr. William Waite Mr. Jeffrey Wallace # CAPT William (Mark) Yerkes, USN (Ret.) * Dr. Bernard Zeigler Dr. Michael Zyda [#]

Certification Board:

Mr. G. V. (Vince) Amico [#] Dr. Louis Birta [#] Dr. Janis Cannon-Bowers Dr. Steven Gordon ^{*} Dr. Michael Macedonia ^{*} Mr. Henry C. Okraski ^{*} Dr. Ralph Rogers Mr. James Shiflett Dr. Bernard Zeigler

Exam Subcommittee:

Dr. Louis Birta [#] Mr. Roy Crosbie Mr. Gary (Mike) Lightner Dr. Dennis McBride Mr. Henry C. Okraski * Dr. Ralph Rogers Dr. Hessam Sarjoughian Mr. Joseph Swinski Dr. Michael Zyda [#] Mr. Larry Alexander Mr. David (Bart) Bartlett Mr. Fernando Barros Dr. Christian Bauer * Ms. Michelle Bevan Lt. Col. Eileen Bjorkman, USAF Mr. Mark Bovd Dr. Linda Brent * Mr. James Campbell, Jr. Mr. Joseph Celano # Dr. Thomas Clarke # Mr. Denis Clements * Mr. Michael Conti * Mr. Kevin Curlev * COL Rae Dehncke, USA (Ret.) Dr. Bruce Fairchild Mr. Eugene Frazier Mr. Milton Fulghum, Jr. Mr. Joseph Gauthier # Mr. Brian Goldiez Dr. Steven Gordon * Mr. David Gross * Mr. Gregory Hansen * Mr. William (Bill) Harris * Mr. Frederick Hartman Mr. Edward Harvey, Jr. Dr. Amy Henninger * Dr. Daryl Hild Mr. Rov Hixson Dr. Mehmet Hocaoglu Mr. Steve Husak Mr. Garv Kamsickas Mr. Kenneth Kelly * Mr. Tag Gon Kim Ms. Laura Knight Mr. Gary Kollmorgen Mr. George Kralovec Mr. Lee Lacy Mr. Llovd Landry. Jr. Mr. Thomas Leising Mr. Gary (Mike) Lightner Mr. Stewart Liles CAPT Michael Lilienthal, USN Dr. Bowen Loftin Mr. Jeffrev Marlin Mr. Wylie May

Dr. Dennis McBride Mr. John McGinn, Jr. Dr. Frederic McKenzie Mr. Michael McNultv Dr. Roland Mielke Mr. Douglas Miller Mr. Thomas Miller Dr. Katherine Morse Mr. Paul Murtha Mr. Ralph Nebiker Ms. Ann O'Kennon Mr. Henry C. Okraski * Dr. Ernest Page CPT Joel Pawloski, USA Mr. Mikel Petty Dr. David Pratt Dr. Michael Proctor * Mr. John Rabeni Mr. Richard Roop Dr. Hessam Sarjoughian Dr. Mark Scerbo Mr. James Scherer Mr. Harry Shackelford Dr. Elizabeth Sheldon * Mr. Roger Smith * Mr. Charles Snead Mr. Jerry Stahl * Mr. Thomas Stanford Mr. Kenneth Steffee Dr. Jeffrey Steinman * Dr. William Swart Mr. Joseph Swinski Mr. John Tennant Mr. David Thomen Mr. Harry Thompson, III * Mr. William Turner * Dr. Robert Tyler Mr. Craig Unrath Dr. Gabriel Wainer Dr. James Wall Mr. Darwin (Steve) Webley Mr. John Wrigley Mr. Gary Yerace CAPT William (Mark) Yerkes, USN (Ret.) * Mr. William Yurcik